ᓚᘏᗢdostoynikov

The unbearable lightness of a simple photoblog

I love having collection of photos I like on the internet. I can access them whenever I want. Yet, I do not really like instagram.

Although I have it, mostly I use it to interact and stay in contact with my friends. Because, for most people, staying in contact via instagram is the norm. It is not the norm for me but I do not really have power as one person.

But it does not mean that I can not have my own taste of photo blog.

Luckily I've found a very nice photoblog generator on Github made by Anders Jensen-Urstad. He is such a nice guy that he even helped me, via email, by answering my questions about how to set the generator up because I couldn't get something rights at first. This is his photoblog by the way.

It is just exactly what I wanted. Lightweight, super fast, no tracking, privacy friendly and content-first approach. So I just went right away and built my own. Once you open it, you will see the latest uploaded photo. At the bottom navigation, there are older, newer, home, archive and contact buttons. You can also tap/click to the photo to navigate to the older photos.

Right now it is only on Github page because I still could not decide a name for the blog, which domain and hosting service to use. I'm still looking for a privacy friendly, reliable service. Once I decide these, I will have proper domain name later. (Edit: as of 02.07.2024, I transferred it to a custom domain)

I found some services from this list on PrivacyTools.io. Apart from these, I found Porkbun, Mythic Beasts, Nixi Host and Nearly Free Spech. I will need to dig these up and see the best one. (I'm addicted to the act of researching these kind of things :') )

If you have any suggestions of domain and hosting service, I really appreciate it. I want to use the domain for my Bearblog blog in the future, too.

For now, it is what it is.
¯\_( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)_/¯